Governor Jay Inslee signed HB 2443 into law this afternoon, officially recognizing the Washington State University Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine as an accredited medical school and adding the university as a third co-chair of the Family Medicine Residency Network’s advisory board alongside the University of Washington and the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences.

Established in 1975, the Family Medicine Residency Network supports and encourages the development of family medicine residencies across the state of Washington. As a member of the advisory board, WSU would assist in making recommendations on the selection of areas where affiliated residency programs will exist.

The bill passed through the House and Senate with full support on both sides of the aisle as it made its way through the Legislature this session. HB 2443 passed unanimously off the Senate floor with a vote of 49-0 and off the House floor with a count of 98-0.

Video of today’s bill signing can be viewed below.